Ramsar awards 2012

2012 Awards

On 6 July 2012, five laureates were honoured at the opening ceremony of the Eleventh Meeting of the Conference of the Contracting Parties to the Convention on Wetlands (COP11), in Bucharest, Romania. The 2012 winners received the Ramsar trophy created by the late sculptress Verena Darmon and a certificate.

For the fifth edition, the Ramsar Awards were given in three categories of Education, Management, and Science, to the Wisconsin Wetlands Association, Ms Augusta Henriques, and Prof. Tatsuichi Tsujii, respectively. The jury also conferred a Recognition of Achievement Award to Mr Thymio Papayannis. Finally, as 2011 marked the 40th anniversary of the signing of the Convention, the Standing Committee decided to honour one of the founding fathers of the treaty, Dr Luc Hoffmann, with a 40th Anniversary Honorary Ramsar Award.