# Annex to Diplomatic Note 2007/8 of 9 November 2007

### **Standing Committee composition**

#### Voting members

Africa: Benin, Gabon, Kenya, Malawi, Uganda (Chair and COP9 Host)
Asia: China, Islamic Republic of Iran, Republic of Korea (COP10 Host), Thailand
Europe: Austria, the Czech Republic, Georgia, Slovenia
Neotropics: Bahamas (Vice-Chair), Ecuador, El Salvador
N. America: the United States (Chair of the Subgroup on Finance)
Oceania: Samoa

#### Observers

Permanent Observer status: The Netherlands, Switzerland

Official International Organization Partners of the Convention: BirdLife International, IUCN-The World Conservation Union, the International Water Management Institute, Wetlands International, WWF International

Chair of the Ramsar Scientific and Technical Review Panel (STRP)

## **Composition of Subgroups**

**Subgroup on COP10**: Republic of Korea (Chair), Austria, El Salvador, Kenya, Samoa, Switzerland (Observer), Thailand, USA, and Wetlands International (IOP contact).

Subgroup on Finance: USA (Chair), Benin, China, Czech Republic, Ecuador and Samoa.

**Subgroup on the Strategic Plan**: Bahamas (Chair), Australia, Benin, Ecuador, Georgia, Islamic Republic of Iran, Japan (Observer), UK (Observer), USA and BirdLife International (IOP contact).

#### Management Working Group:

Chair and Vice Chair of the Standing Committee established at COP8 Chair and Vice Chair of the Standing Committee established at COP9 COP8 and COP9 Chairs of the Subgroup on Finance COP8 and COP9 Chairs of the Scientific and Technical Review Panel Secretary General *ex officio* BirdLife International and WWF International representing the International Organization Partners Representatives of the following Contracting Parties: China, Japan, Malawi, Republic of Korea, the Russian Federation, Samoa, Switzerland, Syria, Viet Nam.