## Notification 2002 / 9

## 2002 Ramsar Wetland Conservation Awards and Recognition of Excellence

The Bureau of the Convention on Wetlands (Ramsar, Iran, 1971) presents its compliments and has the honour to refer to the following:

Contracting Parties will be aware that the Ramsar Wetland Conservation Award was established by Resolution VI.18 of the 6<sup>th</sup> Meeting of the Conference of the Contracting Parties, in order to recognise and honour the contributions of individuals, organisations and governments around the world in promoting the conservation and wise use of wetlands. The Award was given for the first time on the occasion of the 7<sup>th</sup> Meeting of the Conference of the Parties (San José, Costa Rica, 1999).

The Ramsar Standing Committee, at its meeting in October 2000 (SC25), reinstated the criteria and procedures for adjudicating the Award and determined to select three winners for presentation at the 8<sup>th</sup> Conference of the Parties (Valencia, Spain, November 2002). The Committee also accepted the renewed generous offer from the Danone Group (France) to provide US\$ 10,000 for each of the three Wetland Conservation Awards, under the name of "Evian Special Prize".

According to Decision SC25-16, the call for nominations was issued in June 2001. By the deadline of 31 December 2001, a total of 60 valid nominations were received. At its meeting in May 2002, the Jury decided on the winners of the Award.

The Bureau is pleased to announce to the Contracting Parties the names of the recipients of the Award and Evian Special Prize:

- The Banrock Station Initiative of the BRL Hardy Wine Company (Australia A private sector initiative)
- The NGO Trinational Initiative for the Morava-Dyje Floodplains: Daphne (Slovak Republic), Distelverein, (Austria), Veronica (Czech Republic), WWF International-Danube Carpathian Programme (An NGO transnational initiative)
- The Chilika Development Authority (India, a government initiative, carried out with the support of international and national NGOs)

The Awards, together with the Evian Special Prize, will be presented to representatives of the laureates at a ceremony during the opening session of the 8<sup>th</sup> Meeting of the Conference of the Contracting Parties, on 18 November 2002.

In addition, on the basis of the excellent quality of these nominations, the Jury also decided to award a Recognition of Excellence to two outstanding scientists whose achievements in favour of wetlands and the Convention were considered as also deserving recognition:

- Dr Max Finlayson (Australia)
- Dr Monique Coulet (France)

Dr Finlayson and Dr Coulet will receive a certificate at the Award ceremony in Valencia.

Short descriptions of the contributions for which these groups and individuals are being honoured are attached to the present Notification, and are available on the Ramsar Web Site.

The Bureau of the Convention on Wetlands respectfully requests that the content of the present Note be communicated to the competent national authorities and avails itself of this opportunity to renew the assurance of its highest consideration.

Gland, 4 July 2002