Composition of the Ramsar Scientific and Technical Review Panel 2019-2021 triennium

Composition of the Ramsar Scientific and Technical Review Panel 2019-2021 triennium

1 March 2019

The Ramsar Secretariat is pleased to announce the composition of the Scientific and Technical Review Panel (STRP) for the 2019-2021 triennium, as follows:

STRP Chair: David Stroud, United Kingdom

As the UK’s Joint Nature Conservation Committee Senior Ornithologist, David has played a major role in many national and international bodies involved in wetland and waterbird conservation including Wetlands International, the International Wader Study Group, Agreement on the Conservation of African-Eurasian Migratory Waterbirds (AEWA), the EU’s Birds Directive committees and Convention on Migratory Species (CMS).

He has been involved in the UK’s implementation of the Ramsar Convention since the late 1980s. He has been a member of UK delegations to COPs since 1996 (COP6). David is a member of the STRP since 2003. He has been appointed as Thematic expert for Ramsar Site designation and management (2005-08). Additionally, he has actively participated in the work of the Agreement on the Conservation of African-Eurasian Migratory Waterbirds (AEWA) Technical Committee and has chaired many working groups over the years.


STRP Vice-Chair: Lisa-Maria Rebelo, Lao PDR

Dr. Lisa-Maria Rebelo is a remote sensing specialist with over 15 years of research experience in the field of natural resource management in Africa and Asia, with a focus on the provision of spatial information for improved land and water management. Her research has focused on the development of innovative approaches based on remote sensing data to understand the influence of various agricultural water management practices on wetlands and other agro-ecosystems,  and on the development of new remote sensing based methodologies to improve the understanding of interactions between basin scale hydrological and ecological functioning and water availability and allocation.

Lisa is the coordinator of the Wetland Theme of the International Science Team set up to support the Japanese Aerospace Exploration Agency’s (JAXA’s) Kyoto and Carbon Initiative, and has contributed to the Ramsar Convention’s Scientific and Technical Review Panel over the past decade, in particular as Scientific Expert during the 2016-2019 Triennium, by providing advice and support for the use of Earth Observation data for wetland inventory, assessment and monitoring. 

       I.          STRP members

Six Regional Technical Experts:

·        Reda Fishar (Africa, Egypt)

·        Acharya Hari Bhadra (Asia, Nepal)

·        David Stroud (Europe, United Kingdom) (STRP Chair)

·        Dulce Infante (North America, Mexico)

·        Edson Junqueira (Latin America and the Caribbean (LAC), Brazil)

·        Hugh Robertson (Oceania, New Zealand)

Six Technical Experts:

·        Professor Kassim Kulindwa (Africa, Tanzania) (reappointment)

·        Professor Lei Guangchun (Asia, China) (reappointment)

·        Ritesh Kumar (Asia, India) (reappointment)

·        Lars Dinesen (Europe, Denmark) (reappointment)

·        Laura Martinez (North America, Mexico) (reappointment)

·        Georgina Ivonne Mariona Castillo (LAC, El Salvador)

Six Scientific Experts:

·        Professor Joseph Elizeri Mbaiwa (Africa, Botswana)

·        Lisa-Maria Rebelo (Asia, Lao P.D.R.) (reappointment) (Vice-Chair)

·        Professor Sangdon Lee (Asia, Republic of Korea)

·        Professor Andrei Sirin (Europe, Russian Federation)

·        Professor Daniel Conde (LAC, Uruguay)

·        Professor Siobhan Fenessy (North America, United States of America) (reappointment)


     II.          STRP Observers [1] 

International Organization Partners Representatives

·        Rebecca Welling, International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN)

·        Priyanie Amerasinghe, International Water Management Institute (IWMI)

·        James Robinson, Wildfowl & Wetlands Trust


Invited Observer organizations Representatives

·        Osamu Ochiai (supported by Ake Rosenqvist), Japan Aerospace Agency (JAXA)

·        Eduardo Mansur, Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO)

·        Jack Rieley, International Peatland Society (IPS)

·        Nick Davidson and Matthew Simpson, Society of Wetlands Scientists (SWS)

·        Christian Perennou, Tour du Valat

·        Anne van Dam (with Ken Irvine as alternate and supported by Max Finlayson for important strategic advice and support on technical matters), IHE Delft Institute for Water Education

·        Lisa Ingwall King, UNEP-WCMC


[1] This list contains only the names of Observer Organizations Representatives nominated within the deadlines established by the Ramsar Secretariat. Other Observer Organizations who have not yet designated their representatives are welcomed to do so.

Additionally, in line with the process in Resolution XII.5: New framework for delivery of scientific and technical advice and guidance on the Convention,  invited Observer Organizations (including International Organization Partners), outlined in Annex 3 of Resolution XIII.8: Future implementation of scientific and technical aspects of the Convention for 2019-2021, have designated their representatives to the STRP 2019-2021 or and in the process to do so. 

The 22nd meeting of the STRP (STRP22) will be the first meeting of the new Panel and it will take place from 18 to 22 March 2019 in Gland, Switzerland. During this meeting the new Panel will draft its work plan for the 2019-2021 triennium for approval of the Standing Committee at its 57th meeting (24 to 28 June 2019).