The Ramsar Wetland Conservation Awards


Winners of the Ramsar Wetland Conservation Award and Evian Special Prize for 2008

The Ramsar Wetland Conservation Award
- for actions that have significantly contributed to long-term conservation and sustainable use of wetlands

The Ramsar Wetland Conservation Awards were established in 1996 by Resolution VI.18 of the 6th Meeting of the Conference of the Contracting Parties to the Convention on Wetlands (Ramsar, Iran, 1971) in order to recognise and honour the contributions of individuals, organisations, and governments around the world towards promoting the conservation and wise use of wetlands. They were first awarded on the occasion of the 7th Meeting of the Conference of the Parties (San José, Costa Rica, 1999), and then at the 8th Meeting of the Conference of the Parties in Valencia, Spain, in 2002, at the 9th Meeting of the Ramsar COP in Kampala, Uganda, in 2005, and most recently at the 10th Meeting of the COP in Changwon, Republic of Korea, in 2008.

Since its inception, the Award has been bestowed in three categories on each occasion, and all of the Award laureates have also received the Evian Special Prize, a cash prize of US$ 10,000, through the generosity of the Danone Group (France).

This is what past winners of the Ramsar Awards say

Back to top
Follow us 
Ramsar Awards 

The Convention today

Number of » Contracting Parties: 168 Sites designated for the
» List of Wetlands of
International Importance
2,186 Total surface area of designated sites (hectares): 208,674,247

Ramsar Secretariat

Rue Mauverney 28
CH-1196 Gland, Switzerland
Tel.: +41 22 999 0170
Fax: +41 22 999 0169
Map: click here

Ramsar Forum: subscribe