Call for nominations for the Ramsar Wetland Conservation Awards 2012

The Ramsar Convention Secretariat has the pleasure of launching a call for nominations for the fifth edition of the Ramsar Wetland Conservation Awards, which will be presented at the 11th meeting of the Conference of the Contracting Parties in Bucharest, Romania, in June 2012. The Ramsar Awards were established in 1996 in order to recognize and honour the contributions of individuals, organizations and governments around the world towards promoting the conservation and wise use of wetlands. 

In 2012 at Ramsar COP11, a prize will be given in each of three categories: “Management”, “Wetland Science”, and “Education”. The Ramsar Secretariat invites all recipients of this message to consider whether they know of suitable individuals, organizations, or initiatives that could be nominated, as well as to disseminate this call widely within their network, so as to attract as many good nominations as possible.

For more information regarding the Criteria and Procedures for the Award, nomination forms, as well as on previous editions of the Awards please consult the Ramsar web site:

The deadline for the receipt of nominations is 31 May 2011.

Back to top
Follow us 
Ramsar Awards 

The Convention today

Number of » Contracting Parties: 168 Sites designated for the
» List of Wetlands of
International Importance
2,186 Total surface area of designated sites (hectares): 208,674,247

Ramsar Secretariat

Rue Mauverney 28
CH-1196 Gland, Switzerland
Tel.: +41 22 999 0170
Fax: +41 22 999 0169
Map: click here

Ramsar Forum: subscribe