36th Meeting of the Ramsar

36th Meeting of the Standing Committee
Gland, Switzerland, 25-29 February 2008
DOC. SC36/SG COP10-1

Selection of the winners of the Ramsar Wetland Conservation Award 2008

Action requested: The Standing Committee Subgroup on COP10 is invited to note the progress so far in selecting the Ramsar Award winners for COP10 and to comment as appropriate on the procedure to be used in their final selection.

1. The Ramsar Wetland Conservation Award was established in 1996 by Resolution VI.18 of the 6th Meeting of the Conference of the Contracting Parties to the Convention on Wetlands (Ramsar, Iran, 1971) in order to recognize and honor the contributions of individuals, organizations, and governments around the world towards promoting the conservation and wise use of wetlands.

2. So far, the Ramsar Awards have been conferred on the occasion of the 7th Meeting of the Conference of the Parties (San José, Costa Rica, 1999), at the 8th Meeting of the Conference of the Parties in Valencia, Spain, in 2002, and at the 9th Meeting of the Ramsar COP in Kampala, Uganda, in 2005.

3. The Ramsar Standing Committee, at its meeting in February 2007, agreed the criteria and procedures for adjudicating the fourth round of the Award and determined to select three winners for presentation at the 10th Conference of the Parties, to be held in Changwon in October-November 2008. By decision SC35-3, the Standing Committee determined that the Ramsar Award for COP10 will be given in the categories of management, science, and education.

4. Nominations have been encouraged of persons or government or non-government organizations that have taken initiatives that have contributed significantly to the long-term conservation and sustainable use of wetlands, especially those initiatives which might serve as inspirational and practical examples for others.

5. The Committee gratefully once again accepted the offer of the Danone Group (France) to complement the Ramsar Award with the Evian Special Prize, a cash prize of US$ 10,000, which will be granted to each of the three laureates who will receive the Award at COP10.

6. The call for nominations was publicized by the Secretariat in October 2007, and the deadline for nominations for the Award was set for 31 January 2008. It is foreseen that the Standing Committee will receive the Secretariat's analysis of the nominated candidates with the documentation for its 37th meeting, set for June 2008. The SC Subgroup on COP10 will discuss the nominations and prepare its recommendations for a plenary Standing Committee decision during that meeting.

7. The Award winners will be announced following that decision, once the Secretariat has confirmed the willingness of the selected candidates to receive the Award, and they will be honored during the opening sessions of COP10 in Changwon.

8. At the Standing Committee's 36th meeting, the Subgroup on COP10 and the Standing Committee as a whole (agenda item 8.3) will receive a verbal report on the progress of the nomination process up to that time.

Back to top
Follow us 
Ramsar Awards 

The Convention today

Number of » Contracting Parties: 168 Sites designated for the
» List of Wetlands of
International Importance
2,186 Total surface area of designated sites (hectares): 208,674,247

Ramsar Secretariat

Rue Mauverney 28
CH-1196 Gland, Switzerland
Tel.: +41 22 999 0170
Fax: +41 22 999 0169
E-Mail: ramsar@ramsar.org
Map: click here

Ramsar Forum: subscribe