13th Meeting of the Scientific and Technical Review Panel (STRP) -- Participants' contacts

12/07/2006
CONVENTION ON WETLANDS (Ramsar, Iran, 1971)
13th Meeting of the Scientific and Technical Review Panel,
Gland, Switzerland, 30 May - 2 June 2006


LIST OF PARTICIPANTS' CONTACTS

Regional networker STRP members:

Africa: Dr Heather MacKay, Chair of STRP
Aquatic Scientist
c/o Ramsar Secretariat
mackayh@gmail.com

Asia: Ms Rebecca D'Cruz, STRP Vice-Chair
Executive Director, Wetlands and Water Unit
Aonyx Environmental
18 Jalan Urat Mata
Tabuan Jaya
aonyx@pd.jaring.my

Europe: Dr Karén Jenderedjian
Head, Animal Resources Management Division
Bioresources Management Agency
Ministry of Nature Protection
Government Building 3, Republic Square
375010 Yerevan, Armenia
karen_jender@mail.ru jender@arminco.com

Neotropics: Sra. María Rivera Gutierrez
Coordinadora Tema de Humedales
Ministerio de Ambiente, Vivienda y Desarrollo Territorial
Dirección Técnica de Ecosistemas
Calle 37 N° 8-40, piso 2
Bogotá, Colombia
mrivera@minambiente.gov.co jrivera@impsat.net.co

North America: Prof. Royal C. Gardner
Vice Dean and Professor of Law
Stetson University College of Law
1401 61st Street South
Gulfport, FL 33707, USA
gardner@law.stetson.edu

Oceania: Dr Philippe Gerbeaux
Principal Adviser, IUCN, Fiji
[new address and contact details to be confirmed]
gerbeauxp@iucn.org

Thematic expert STRP members:

Dr. Teresita Borges Hernández - Inventory & assessment/indicators
Senior Officer, Dirección de Medio Ambiente
Ministerio de Ciencia, Tecnología y Medio Ambiente
Capitolio Nacional, Prado y San José
La Habana, Cuba
teresita.borges@infomed.sld.cu borges@citma.cu

Mr Randy Milton - Wise use/ecological character
Manager, Wildlife Resources
Wetlands and Coastal Habitats Programme
Nova Scotia Department of Natural Resources
136 Exhibition Street
Kentville, Nova Scotia B4N 4E5, Canada
miltongr@gov.ns.ca

Dr Mike Acreman - Water resource management
Head of Hydro-ecology and Wetlands
Centre for Ecology and Hydrology
Maclean Building, Crowmarsh Gifford
Wallingford, Oxon OX10 8BB, UK
man@ceh.ac.uk

Mr David Stroud - Ramsar site designation/management
Senior Ornithologist, Species Advice Team
Joint Nature Conservation Committee
Monkstone House, City Road
Peterborough PE1 1JY UK
David.Stroud@jncc.gov.uk

Dr Max Finlayson - Wetlands & agriculture
Principal Researcher, Wetland Ecology
International Water Management Institute IWMI
PO Box 2075
Colombo, Sri Lanka
m.finlayson@cgiar.org

Ms Christine Prietto - CEPA
Education Manager, The Wetlands Centre
NSW Department of Education and Training
PO Box 292
Wallsend NSW 2287 Australia
priettoclub@aapt.net.au

International Organization Partner (IOP) STRP member representatives

BirdLife International: Mr David Pritchard
International Treaties Adviser, BirdLife International
c/o RSPB, The Lodge
Sandy, Bedfordshire SG19 2DL, UK
dave.pritchard@rspb.org.uk

IUCN: Dr Mark Smith
Water Management Advisor, Wetlands and Water Resources Programme
IUCN - The World Conservation Union
Rue Mauverney 28
1196 Gland, Switzerland
SmithM@iucn.org

IWMI: Dr Rebecca E. Tharme
Theme Leader, Water Management & Environment
International Water Management Institute
PO Box 2075
Colombo, Sri Lanka
r.tharme@cgiar.org

Wetlands International: Dr Douglas Taylor
International Science Coordinator, Wetlands International
PO Box 471
6700 AL Wageningen, Netherlands
doug.taylor@wetlands.org

WWF: Ms Archana Chatterjee
Coordinator (Wetland Habitats)
Freshwater & Wetlands Conservation Programme, WWF - India
172-B Lodi Estate
New Delhi 110 003, India
Achatterjee@wwfindia.net

Observer organization representatives:

UNCCD CST: Mr Viorel Blujdea
Chairperson of the UNCCD CST
Forest Research and Mangement Institute
Sos Stefanesti 128
077190 Voluntari, Ilfov, Romania
viorel_blujdea@yahoo.com viorelb@icas.ro; viorel_blujdea@icas.ro

CBD Secretariat: Mr Jo Mulongoy
Principal Officer, Secretariat of the (UN) Convention on Biological Diversity
World Trade Centre
413 rue St. Jacques, 8th floor, Office 800
Montréal, Québec H2Y 1N9, Canada
jo.mulongoy@biodiv.org

CITES Secretariat: Mr Tom de Meulenaer
Senior Scientific Officer
CITES Secretariat
International Environment House
11-13 Chemin des Anémones
1219 Châtelaine (GE), Switzerland
tom.de-meulenaer@unep.ch

UNCCD Secretariat: Mr Ndegwa Ndiang'ui
Senior Scientific Affairs Officer
Committee on Science and Technology (CST), UNCCD
Haus Carstanjen, Martin-Luther-King-Strasse 8
53175 Bonn, Germany
nndiangui@unccd.int

FAO : Dr Lucilla Spini
Programme Officer
Global Terrestrial Observing System (GTOS) Secretariat
SDRN, FAO (United Nations)
Viale delle Terme di Caracalla
00100 Rome, Italy
Lucilla.Spini@fao.org

UNEP-WCMC: Dr Robert Pople
Programme Officer, MEA Support Programme
UNEP - World Conservation Monitoring Centre
219 Huntingdon Road
Cambridge, CB3 0DL, UK
Robert.Pople@unep-wcmc.org

Society of Wetland Scientists: Mr Robert McInnes
Head of Wetland Habitats & Ecosystems
The Wildfowl & Wetlands Trust
West Slimbridge, Glos. GL2 7BT, UK
rob.mcinnes@wwt.org.uk

Ducks Unlimited U.S.A.: Dr W. Alan Wentz
Senior Group Manager, Ducks Unlimited, Inc.
One Waterfowl Way
Memphis, TN 38120-2351, USA
awentz@ducks.org

RIZA - Netherlands: Mr Joost Backx
Head, Wetland development and restoration department
RIZA Institute for Inland Water Management and Waste Water Treatment
P.O. Box 17
8200 AA Lelystad, Netherlands
j.backx@riza.rws.minvenw.nl

GWP - The Global Water Partnership: Mr Bruce Gray
Assistant Director, Inland Waters Section, Land, Water & Coasts Division
Department of the Environment and Heritage
GPO Box 787
Canberra ACT 2601, Australia
bruce.gray@deh.gov.au

UNEP/AEWA: Mr Sergey Dereliev
Technical Officer, UNEP/AEWA Secretariat
African-Eurasian Waterbird Agreement
Martin-Luther-King str., 8
D-53175 Bonn, Germany
sdereliev@unep.de

ESA-ESRIN: Mr Diego Fernandez-Prieto
Earth Observation Applications Engineer
European Space Agency
via Galileo Galilei
00044 Frascati, Rome, Italy
dfernand@esa.int diego.fernandez@esa.int

GBIF: Ms Beatriz Torres
Programme Officer, GBIF Secretariat
Universitetsparken 15
2100 Copenhagen, Denmark
Btorres@gbif.org

The Nature Conservancy: Mark Spalding
Senior Marine Scientist
Global Conservation Approach Team
93 Centre Drive,
Newmarket CB8 8AW, UK
mspalding@tnc.org

Other Observers

Chair, Ramsar Standing Committee: Mr Paul Mafabi Gumonye
Assistant Commissioner, Wetlands Inspection Division
Ministry of Water, Lands and Environment
Century Building, Parliament Avenue
PO Box 9629
Kampala, Uganda
mafabip@ugandawetlands.org mail@ugandawetlands.org

Vice-Chair, Ramsar Standing Committee: Mr John A. Bowleg
Water and Environmental Manager, Water & Sewerage Corporation
Water Resources Management Unit
87 Thompson Blvd.
PO Box N-3905
Nassau, N.P. Bahamas
JohnABowleg@aol.com wcjbowleg@wsc.com.bs

Ramsar Oceania Officer: Mr Vainuupo Jungblut
Coastal Management Program, Island Ecosystems Program, SPREP
PO Box 240
Vailima, Apia, Samoa
vainuupoj@sprep.org nuupo@yahoo.com

Invited Experts

Ms Eleni Fitoka - inventory/assessment
Head of Inventory of Natural Resources Section
The Goulandris Natural History Museum
Greek Biotope Wetland Centre (EKBY)
P.O. Box 60394
14th km, Thessalonikis - Mihanionas
GR-57001 Thermi, GREECE
helenf@ekby.gr

Mr George P. Lukacs - agriculture
Director, Australian Centre for Tropical Freshwater Research
James Cook University
Townsville Q 4811, Australia
George.Lukacs@jcu.edu.au

Observers - Members of CEPA Oversight Panel

Mr Charles C. Amankwah
Coordinator, Wetlands Conservation
Collaborative Resource Management Unit
Wildlife Division (Forestry Commission)
PO Box MB.239
Accra, Ghana
Amankwah@wd.fcghana.com

Sr Stefan Bohórquez
Director ejecutivo, Comite Ecológico del Litoral
Ciudadela Miraflores Calle 4ta No. 103 y Av. Las Palmas
Guayaquil, Ecuador
sbohorquez@gmx.net comecolit@hotmail.com

Mr Tunde Ojei
Global Capacity Building Coordinator, Wetlands International
PO Box 471
3a Droevendaalsesteeg
6708 PB Wageningen, Netherlands
Tunde.Ojei@wetlands.org

Ramsar Convention Secretariat

Dr Peter Bridgewater - Secretary General
Dr Nick Davidson - Deputy Secretary General
Ms Margarita Astralaga - Senior Advisor for the Americas
Dr Guangchun Lei - Senior Advisor for Asia
Dr Tobias Salathe - Senior Advisor for Europe
Dr Sandra Hails - CEPA Programme Officer
Dr Dwight Peck - Communications Officer
Mr Sebastia Semene Guitart - Development Officer
Mr Adrian Ruiz Carvajal - Assistant for the Americas
Ms Dorothea August - Assistant for Europe
Ms Lucia Scodanibbio - Assistant for Africa
Ms Pragati Tuladhar - Assistant for Asia
Ms Mireille Katz - Executive Assistant to the Secretary General
Ms Paulette Kennedy - Finance and Projects Administrator
Ms Catherine Loetscher - Administrative Assistant
Ms Montse Riera - Office Services Assistant

Back to top
Follow us 
Ramsar Awards 

The Convention today

Number of » Contracting Parties: 168 Sites designated for the
» List of Wetlands of
International Importance
2,187 Total surface area of designated sites (hectares): 208,608,257

Ramsar Secretariat

Rue Mauverney 28
CH-1196 Gland, Switzerland
Tel.: +41 22 999 0170
Fax: +41 22 999 0169
E-Mail: ramsar@ramsar.org
Map: click here

Ramsar Forum: subscribe