Le délai pour le dépôt des nominations pour le Prix Ramsar approche! / Spanish to follow


Le délai pour le dépôt des nominations pour le Prix Ramsar approche!

Le Prix Ramsar pour la conservation des zones humides a été créé en 1996 par la Convention Ramsar dans le but de reconnaître et de rendre hommage aux réalisations de personnes, d'organisations et de gouvernements du monde entier pour des actions ayant grandement contribué à la conservation à long terme et à l'utilisation rationnelle des zones humides.


Wetland Awards deadline not so very far off

The Wetland Conservation Awards ("for actions that have significantly contributed to long-term conservation and sustainable use of wetlands") were established by the Ramsar Convention in 1996 in order to recognize and honor the contributions of individuals, organizations, and governments around the world towards promoting the conservation and wise use of wetlands.

The 2005 Awards will be made in the three categories of management, science, and education, and as in the past each will be accompanied by the Evian Special Prize of US$ 10,000, courtesy of the Danone Group (France). The deadline for nominations is 31 October 2004, so friends of wetlands will now be scurrying to pass this information on to their colleagues and, indeed, to nominate one or more of their mentors and formative influences on their careers or even themselves. The general index page, with criteria and nomination forms in English, Français, and Español, can be seen here.

Back to top
Follow us 
Ramsar Awards 

The Convention today

Number of » Contracting Parties: 168 Sites designated for the
» List of Wetlands of
International Importance
2,186 Total surface area of designated sites (hectares): 208,674,247

Ramsar Secretariat

Rue Mauverney 28
CH-1196 Gland, Switzerland
Tel.: +41 22 999 0170
Fax: +41 22 999 0169
E-Mail: ramsar@ramsar.org
Map: click here

Ramsar Forum: subscribe