ICRI's Coordinating and Planning Committee meets in Gland, Switzerland

13/05/2003

ICRI wraps up meeting in Gland

The Ramsar Convention Bureau and IUCN - The World Conservation Union hosted the International Coral Reef Initiative's (ICRI) Coordinating and Planning Committee (CPC) Meeting in Gland, Switzerland the past 8-9 of May, in coordination with ICRI's Joint Philippines-Sweden Secretariat. The meeting featured country representatives from Australia, France, Germany, Japan, Kenya, Malta, Mexico, Tanzania, the United Kingdom, and the United States. Participating organizations and networks included the Global Coral Reef Monitoring Network (GCRMN), the International Coral Reef Action Network (ICRAN), the Ramsar Convention on Wetlands, the International Scientific Reef Studies (ISRS), IUCN - The World Conservation Union, United States Agency for International Development (USAID), the World Bank, the Secretariat of the Convention on Biological Diversity, the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP), and the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission of UNESCO.

This fruitful meeting was highlighted by the transfer of the ICRI Secretariat to the United Kingdom for the next two year period, starting July 2003, with the Seychelles as the developing country co-host. The complete meeting report, including resolutions and recommendations, plus the complete list of participants will be made available in the ICRI Forum shortly. (www.icriforum.org).

Tom Praster, Barbara Best, Kristian Teleki, John Baldwin, Rolph Payet, Venu Ittekkot, Bernard Salvat

Venu Ittekkot, Rolph Payet, Carl Lundin, John Baldwin

Clive Wilkinson making amendments to resolutions. Background (L-R) David Souter, Olof Linden, Robert Canning, Nyawira Muthiga (seated), Chris Tompkins, Tom Praster

Margarita Astrálaga, Gerardo Leyte, Robert Cudney, Keisuke Takahashi, Tadashi Kimura, Magnus Ngoile, Ole Vestergaard

Carl Lundin and Olof Linden (Carl getting present for hosting meeting and support to ICRI over the past years). Background: Barbara Best, Marea Hatziolos and John Baldwin

Marjo Vierros, Margarita Astrálaga, Gerardo Leyte (MAA getting gift for helping to host the meeting)


Participants

AUSTRALIA
JOHN BALDWIN
Manager
International Business
Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority
2-68 Flinders Street,
Townsville QLD 4810
Tel: 617 4750 0814
Fax: 617 4721 3445
E-mail: j.baldwin@gbrmpa.gov.au

FRANCE
BERNARD SALVAT
Universite de Perpignan/ GCRMN Southeast & Central Pacif. Node
52, avenue de Villeneuve
66860 Perpignan Cedex
Tel: 33 4 68 66 20 55
Fax: 33 4 68 50 36 86
E-mail: bsalvat@univ-perp.fr

GERMANY
VENUGOPALAN ITTEKKOT
Director
Center for Tropical Marine Ecology
Fahrenheitstr. 6
D-28359 Bremen- Germany
Tel: 49 421 238 0021
Fax: 49 421 238 0030
E-mail: Ittekkot@compuserve.com
ittekkot@zmt.uni-bremen.de

JAPAN
KEISUKE TAKAHASHI
Technical Officer
Biodiversity Planning Division
Nature Conservation Bureau
Ministry of Environment
122 Kasumigaseki, Chiyoda-ku
Tokyo 100-8975
Japan
Tel: 81 3 5521 8274
Fax: 81 3 3591 3228
E-mail: keisuke_takahashi@env.go.jp

TADASHI KIMURA
Researcher
Japan Wildlife Research Center (JWRC)
3-10-10- Shitaya , Taito, Tokyo
110-8676, Japan
Tel: 81 3 5824 0967
Fax: 81 3 5824 0968
E-mail: tkimura@jwrc.or.jp

KENYA
NYAWIRA MUTHIGA
Head
Coastal and Wetlands Program
Kenya Wildlife Service
P.O. Box 82144 Mama Ngina Dr.
Tel: 254 11 312 745
Fax: 254 11 222 612
E-mail: nmuthiga@africaonline.co.ke

MALTA
Iuri Ouilinen
IOI Executive Director
Address:
Tel: 356 21 346 528
Fax:
E-mail: ioimla@remumnet.mt

MEXICO
GERARDO LEYTE MORALES
Mexican N-STACM, Universidad del Mar
Address: Ciudad Universitaria Puerto Angel
Oaxaca, Mexico 70902
Tel: 52 958 58 43049
Fax: 52 958 58 43078
E-mail:leyteg@angel.umar.mx

ROBERT CUDNEY
CONANP / Mexico
Address: Parque Nacional Plaza Sol, Altos
Cozumel, Quintana Roo, Mexico 77600
Tel: 52 987 872 4275
Fax:
E-mail:rocudney@conanp.gob.mx

TANZANIA
MAGNUS NGOILE
Director General/Pew Fellow
National Environment Management Council
P.O. Box 631 54/63207
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Tel: 255 748 490049
Fax: 255 22 2668611
E-mail: ngoile@nemctz.org / magnus@simbanet.net / ngoile@yahoo.com

UNITED KINGDOM
CHRIS TOMPKINS
DEFRA - Marine and Waterways Division
Address: Zone 3B7, Ashdown House
123 Victoria Street SW1E 6DE
Tel: 44 207 944 5306
Fax: 44 207 944 5309
E-mail:chris.tompkins@defra.gsi.gov.uk

ROBERT CANNING
DEFRA - Marine and Waterways Division
Address: Room 3/C8 Ashdown House
123 Victoria Street SW1E 6DE
Tel: 44 207 944 5307
Fax: 44 207 944 5309
E-mail: robert.canning@defra.gsi.gov.uk

UNITED STATES
THOMAS PRASTER
US State Department OES/ETC
2201 C. St. NW Washington D.C. 20520
Tel: 202 647 2255 / 736 7351
Fax:
E-mail: prasterta@state.gov

ICRI NETWORKS/ORGANIZATIONS

Coral Reef Degradation in the Indian Ocean/
ICRI SECRETARIAT
OLOF LINDEN
ICRI Secretariat - Sweden
Department of Biology and Environmental Science
Uiversity of Kalmar 59182
Sweden
Tel: 46 0 480 447 349
Fax: 46 0 480 447 355
E-mail: olof@timmermon.se / olof.linden@cordio.org

DAVID SOUTER
ICRI Secretariat - Sweden
Scientific Advisor
Department of Biology and Environmental Science
Uiversity of Kalmar 59182
Sweden
Tel: 46 702 322 114
Fax: 46 480 447 355
E-mail: souter@pi.se / david.souter@cordio.org

Global Coral Reef Monitoring Network (GCRMN)
CLIVE WILKINSON
Global Coordinator
Australian Institute of Marine Science (AIMS)
AIMS PMB #3 Townsville 4810 Australia
Tel: 61 7 47 724314/298 452
Fax:
E-mail: c.wilkinson@aims.gov.au

International Coral Reef Action Network (ICRAN)
KRISTIAN TELEKI
Assistant Director
c/o UNEP-WCMC
219 Huntingdon Road
Cambridge CB3 0DL
United Kingdom
Tel:44 1223 277314
Fax: 44 1223 277136+D73
E-mail: kteleki@icran.org

RICHARD KENCHINGTON
Chair, ICRAN Board
Marine Pty Ltd.
P.O. Box 588 Jamison
Canberra, Australia 2614
Tel: 61 2 625 5597
E-mail: richard.kenchington@netspeed.com.au

Ramsar Convention on Wetlands
DELMAR BLASCO
Rue Mauverney 28, CH-1196
Gland, Switzerland
Tel: 41 022 999 0180
Fax: 41 022 999 0169
E-mail: blasco@ramsar.org

MARGARITA ASTRALAGA
Americas Regional Coordinator
Ramsar Convention Bureau
Rue Mauverney 28, CH-1196
Gland, Switzerland
Tel: 41 022 999 0175
Fax: 41 022 999 0169
E-mail: astralaga@ramsar.org

JULIO MONTES DE OCA LUGO
Americas Regional Assistant
Ramsar Convention Bureau
Rue Mauverney 28, CH-1196
Gland, Switzerland
Tel: 41 022 999 0178
Fax: 41 022 999 0169
E-mail: americas@ramsar.org

International Scientific Reef Studies (ISRS)
NICHOLAS POLUNIN
School of Marine Science and Technology
Newcastle University, Newcastle-upon-Tyne NE1 7RU
Tel: 44 191 222 6675
Fax: 44 191 222 7891
E-mail: N.Polunin@ncl.ac.uk

IUCN
CARL GUSTAF LUNDIN
Head, IUCN Global Marine Programme
Rue Mauverney 28, 1196 Gland Swtizerland
Tel: 41 22 999 0204
Fax: 41 22 999 0015
E-mail: CGL@iucn.org

JAMES OLIVER
IUCN Global Marine Programme
Rue Mauverney 28, 1196 Gland Swtizerland
Tel: TBA
Fax: TBA
E-mail: james.oliver@iucn.org (from May 19)

KIRSTEN MARTIN
Postgraduate Assistant, IUCN Global Marine Programme
Rue Mauverney 28, 1196 Gland Swtizerland
Tel: +41 22 999 218
Fax: +41 22 999 0015
E-mail: kirsten.martin@iucn.org

United States Agency for International Development (USAID)
BARBARA BEST
Coastal Resources and Policy Advisor
Office of Natural Resources Management
Bureau of Economic Growth, Agriculture and Trade
US Agency for International Development
Washington, D.C. 20523-3800
Tel: 1 202 712 0553
Fax: 1 202 216 3174
E-mail: bbest@usaid.gov

Secretariat of the CBD
MARJO VIERROS
Programme Officer
Marine and Coastal Biological Diversity
Secretariat of the Convention on Biological Diversity
World Trade Center 393 Saint-Jacques Street
Montreal, Quebec Canada
Tel: 1 514 287 7036
Fax: 1 514 288 6588
E-mail: marjo.vierros@biodiv.org

United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP)
ROBERT HEPWORTH
Deputy Director
Division of Environmental Conventions (DEC)
P.O. Box 30552 Nairobi, Kenya
Tel: 254 2 623260
Fax: 254 2 623 926
E-mail: robert.hepworth@unep.org

STEFAN HAIN
Head
UNEP Coral Reef Unit (CRU)
UNEP World Conservation Monitoring Centre (UNEP-WCMC)
219 Huntingdon Road
Cambridge CB3 0DL
United Kingdom
Tel: 44 1223 277314
Fax: 44 1223 277136
E-mail: stefan.hain@unep-wcmc.org

ROLPH PAYET
Interim Coordinator
UNEP Regional Coordinating Unit
Botanical Gardens PO Box 487
Victoria Mahe Seychelles
Tel: 248 225672/224644
Fax: 248 322945/224500
E-mail: rolph@seychelles.sc

INTERGOVERNMENTAL OCEANOGRAPHIC COMMISSION of UNESCO
OLE VESTERGAARD
IOC / UNESCO
1,rue Miollis
75732 Cedex 15 Paris
Tel: 33 1 45 68 4068
Fax: 33 1 45 68 5812
E-mail: o.vestergaard@unesco.org

WORLDBANK
MAREA HATZIOLOS
Senior Coastal and Marine Specialist
Environment Department
MC5 - 512 (mail stop)
The World Bank, 1818 H, St., N.W.
Washington D.C. 20433
Tel: 1 202 473 1061
Fax: 1 202 522 0367
E-mail: Mhatziolos@worldbank.org


 




Back to top
Follow us 
Ramsar Awards 

The Convention today

Number of » Contracting Parties: 168 Sites designated for the
» List of Wetlands of
International Importance
2,187 Total surface area of designated sites (hectares): 208,608,257

Ramsar Secretariat

Rue Mauverney 28
CH-1196 Gland, Switzerland
Tel.: +41 22 999 0170
Fax: +41 22 999 0169
E-Mail: ramsar@ramsar.org
Map: click here

Ramsar Forum: subscribe