35th Meeting of the Ramsar Standing Committee

35th Meeting of the Standing Committee
Gland, Switzerland, 14-16 February 2007

Agenda item 7

Criteria and Procedures for the Ramsar Wetland Conservation Award for COP10

Actions requested: The Standing Committee is requested to review the attached document and

a) to consider and approve the Criteria and Procedures for the COP10 Ramsar Wetland Conservation Award;
b) to consider and approve the proposed calendar for the COP10 Ramsar Award process.


1. The Award was established by Ramsar COP6 (1997), by Resolution VI.18, as follows:


3. DECIDES to establish the Ramsar Wetland Conservation Award;

4. REQUESTS the Standing Committee to consider the financial implications of this decision and to investigate the operation of the Award, taking into account the following principles:
a) the Award shall be presented every three years on the occasion of each ordinary meeting of the Conference of the Parties;
b) nominations for the Award shall be submitted to the Secretary General and the selection shall be made by the Standing Committee;
c) nominees may be individuals, organizations or government agencies; and

5. REQUESTS the Standing Committee, if possible, to arrange for the presentation of the Award for the first time at the 7th Meeting of the Conference of the Contracting Parties in 1999 or, if this is not possible, to report to the 7th Meeting of the Conference."

2. The Award was given for the first time at Ramsar COP7 in 1999, for the second time at COP8 in 2002, and for the third time at COP9 in 2005. Each time, it was accompanied by the Evian Special Prize (US$ 10,000 per prize). At present, the Secretariat is waiting to hear confirmation of the renewal of the Evian fund, and inclusion of a cash prize for the three winners. Clarification is expected before the Standing Committee meeting.

3. At its 20th meeting, the Standing Committee decided to bestow the Award upon one individual, one government agency, and one non-governmental organization. The Award was accordingly given in 1999 to the Pacific Estuary Conservation Program, Canada (government agency); to Mr V. Pulido, Peru, and Prof. V. Krikenko, Russia (sharing the Award in the "individual" category); and to the Society for the Protection of Prespa, Greece, and the Lake Naivasha Riparian Association, Kenya (sharing the Award in the NGO category).

4. In 2002, the Ramsar Award was given to a private company in Australia (Banrock Station Wines), a government agency in India (The Chilika Development Authority), and a consortium of NGOs in Central Europe (The NGO Trinational Initiative for the Morava-Dyje Floodplain).

5. In 2005, the Ramsar Award was given in the categories of Management (to Dr Sh.A. Nezami Baloochi, Iran), Science (to Prof. Shuming Cai, China), and Education (to Ms Reiko Nakamura, Japan, and The Wetlands Centre, Australia).

COP10 Ramsar Award

6. The attached document contains the draft Criteria and Procedures as suggested for the COP10 Award.

7. It is proposed that the Award again be given under the three categories of Management, Science, and Education.

8. With reference to item 4.b) of Resolution VI.18, it is suggested that the Subgroup on COP10 of the Standing Committee be requested to serve as a jury for the Wetland Conservation Award, screening the Secretariat's list of nominations and recommendations and making a recommendation on the laureates to be approved by the full Standing Committee.

9. As was done on previous occasions, the Secretariat will distribute widely the Criteria and Procedures (with a nomination form), mainly via its Web site and Ramsar Forum, and on paper when appropriate.

10. The following is the proposed calendar for the Ramsar Award process:

o Posting and mailing of the call for nominations by end of July 2007 with a deadline for nominations on 30 October 2007;
o Analysis of the candidatures by the Secretariat, to be finalized for submission to the Standing Committee Subgroup on COP10;
o Standing Committee Subgroup on COP10 acting as the Jury meets and recommends the laureates to the full Standing Committee in 2008;
o The Award is presented at the opening of Ramsar COP10 on 28 October 2008.

Ramsar Wetland Conservation Award

Criteria and Procedures

Selection criteria

1. One Ramsar Award shall be awarded for each of the following areas:

a) The "Ramsar Management Award" supported by Danone Evian, rewarding actions - including legislation, strategies, plans, programmes, projects, investments, and campaigns - that have significantly contributed, or have a clear potential to contribute, to the long-term conservation and sustainable use of wetlands;

b) The "Ramsar Science Award" supported by Danone Evian, rewarding contributions to the advancement of wetland science;

c) The "Ramsar Education Award" supported by Danone Evian, rewarding the best initiative for communication, education and public awareness on Wetlands of International Importance.


2. Institutions and citizens of all nations are invited to nominate individuals [*] or institutions - governmental and non-governmental, including community groups - or private sector enterprises, of any nation.

Nominations Procedure

3. Nominations should be submitted to the Ramsar Convention Secretariat in English, French or Spanish, using the Ramsar Award form available from the Ramsar Secretariat in Gland, Switzerland, and on the Ramsar Web site (http://ramsar.org/key_award_ form_e.htm), accompanied by the necessary supporting documentation.

4. The deadline for this round of the Ramsar Award is 30 October 2007. This date shall be final.

Selection Procedure

5. The Ramsar Secretariat shall process the nominations received and submit them for the consideration of the Ramsar Standing Committee. The Standing Committee shall select the laureates. Its decision shall be final.

Announcement and Presentation of the Award

6. The announcement of the laureates on each occasion shall be made through a press release as soon as all of them have confirmed their acceptance of the award.

7. The Ramsar Award will be presented at the opening ceremony of the 10th meeting of the Conference of the Contracting Parties and every effort will be made to ensure the presence of all laureates.

[*] It should be noted that, in the case of individuals, the Ramsar Standing Committee at its 20th meeting (1997) has decided that the Award will not be given in memoriam.

Back to top
Follow us 
Ramsar Awards 

The Convention today

Number of » Contracting Parties: 168 Sites designated for the
» List of Wetlands of
International Importance
2,186 Total surface area of designated sites (hectares): 208,674,247

Ramsar Secretariat

Rue Mauverney 28
CH-1196 Gland, Switzerland
Tel.: +41 22 999 0170
Fax: +41 22 999 0169
E-Mail: ramsar@ramsar.org
Map: click here

Ramsar Forum: subscribe