Diplomatic notification 2007/7:


Notification 2007/7

Ramsar Wetland Conservation Award 2008

The Secretariat of the Convention on Wetlands (Ramsar, Iran, 1971) presents its compliments to the Permanent Mission of ... and has the honour to refer to the following:

The Ramsar Wetland Conservation Award was established in 1996 by Resolution VI.18 of the 6th Meeting of the Conference of the Contracting Parties to the Convention on Wetlands (Ramsar, Iran, 1971) in order to recognise and honour the contributions of individuals, organisations, and governments around the world towards promoting the conservation and wise use of wetlands. It was awarded on the occasion of the 7th Meeting of the Conference of the Parties (San José, Costa Rica, 1999), at the 8th Meeting of the Conference of the Parties in Valencia, Spain, in 2002, and at the 9th Meeting of the Ramsar COP in Kampala, Uganda, in 2005.

The Ramsar Award will be given for the fourth time at the opening ceremony of the 10th Meeting of the Conference of the Contracting Parties (Changwon, Republic of Korea, 28 October 2008). Three Awards will be granted, each with the Evian Special Prize of US$ 10,000 kindly offered by the Danone Group as part of a project in support of the Convention.

By its decision SC35-3, the Standing Committee of the Convention "confirmed that the nomination and award procedures for the Ramsar Conservation Awards will remain the same as previously and determined that previous laureates of the Awards should be invited to nominate candidates or to form an alumni club and that success stories of earlier winners should form part of the 2008 nominations publicity". The Ramsar Award for COP10 will therefore be given in the categories of "management", "science", and "education".

The Convention Secretariat is pleased to attach a document with the Criteria and Procedures for the Ramsar Award 2008 as adopted by the Standing Committee, and a nomination form. As requested, the Secretariat has contacted previous laureates to hear from them about their experience with regard to the Award, and excerpts from their answers are included in this document. The full texts are included in the Ramsar web site.

Nominations must be submitted in one of the three above-mentioned categories only. This information is also available, together with further details on the laureates of the 1999, 2002, and 2005 rounds, on the Convention's web site: http://www.ramsar.org/award/key_awards_index.htm. The deadline for the receipt of nominations is 31 January 2008.

The Secretariat would be grateful for Contracting Parties' assistance in conveying information about the Award to relevant institutions in order to encourage the nomination of suitable candidates.

The Secretariat of the Convention on Wetlands respectfully requests that the content of the present note be communicated to the competent national authorities and avails itself of this opportunity to renew to the Permanent Mission of ... the assurance of its highest consideration.

Gland, 18 October 2007

Encl: Award Criteria and Nomination form

Back to top
Follow us 
Ramsar Awards 

The Convention today

Number of » Contracting Parties: 168 Sites designated for the
» List of Wetlands of
International Importance
2,186 Total surface area of designated sites (hectares): 208,674,247

Ramsar Secretariat

Rue Mauverney 28
CH-1196 Gland, Switzerland
Tel.: +41 22 999 0170
Fax: +41 22 999 0169
E-Mail: ramsar@ramsar.org
Map: click here

Ramsar Forum: subscribe