Diplomatic notification 2006/2:


Notification 2006/2

Ramsar Scientific and Technical Review Panel (STRP) appointed for 2006-2008

The Secretariat of the Convention on Wetlands (Ramsar, Iran, 1971) presents its compliments to the Permanent Mission of ... and has the honour to refer to the following:

In accordance with its mandate adopted by the 9th meeting of the Conference of the Contracting Parties (COP9, Resolution IX.11), the STRP Oversight Committee has appointed the following members of the STRP for the triennium 2006-2008, from a strong field of candidates nominated by Ramsar Administrative Authorities, STRP National Focal Points and STRP members and observers.

Regional representatives, with networking responsibilities:
Africa: Dr. Heather MacKay
Asia: Ms Rebecca D'Cruz
Europe: Dr. Karen Jenderedjian
Neotropics: Ms Maria Rivera
North America: Prof. Roy Gardner
Oceania: Dr. Philippe Gerbeaux

Thematic experts (for STRP priority work areas):
Wetland inventory and assessment, including indicators: Dr. Teresita Borges
Wise use and ecological character: Mr. Randy Milton
Water resource management: Dr. Mike Acreman
Ramsar site designation and management: Mr. David Stroud
Wetlands and agriculture: Dr. Max Finlayson
Communications, Education & Public Awareness (CEPA): Ms Christine Prietto

The STRP Oversight Committee made no appointment for the thematic expert on Wetlands and Human Health, and has requested the Secretariat and STRP Chair to develop proposals for ways and means of undertaking this aspect of the Panel's priority work during the triennium.

The STRP Oversight Committee has also approved the following as STRP members representing the Convention's five International Organisation Partners (IOPs):
BirdLife International: Mr. Dave Pritchard
IUCN: Dr. Mark Smith
IWMI: Dr. Rebecca Tharme
Wetlands International: Dr. Doug Taylor
WWF: Ms Archana Chatterjee

The Oversight Committee has appointed Dr Heather MacKay as Chair of the STRP for 2006-2008, and Ms Rebecca D'Cruz as Vice-Chair.

The Oversight Committee has also approved the dates for the next meeting of the Panel, its 13th. This will be from 30 May to 2 June 2006, in the Secretariat offices in Gland, Switzerland.

At this meeting the Panel will review and develop its work programme for the triennium, based on the high and immediate priority tasks established by Contracting Parties at COP9 in Resolution IX.2 Annex 1.

The Secretariat of the Convention on Wetlands respectfully requests that the content of the present note be communicated to the competent national authorities and avails itself of this opportunity to renew to the Permanent Mission of ... the assurance of its highest consideration.

Gland, 6 March 2006

Back to top
Follow us 
Ramsar Awards 

The Convention today

Number of » Contracting Parties: 168 Sites designated for the
» List of Wetlands of
International Importance
2,186 Total surface area of designated sites (hectares): 208,674,247

Ramsar Secretariat

Rue Mauverney 28
CH-1196 Gland, Switzerland
Tel.: +41 22 999 0170
Fax: +41 22 999 0169
E-Mail: ramsar@ramsar.org
Map: click here

Ramsar Forum: subscribe